Sad Seattle

Yesterday afternoon I was walking by myself downtown, which I often do when I feel like the meat of a sandwich, and two things happened. First off, this middle-aged woman tapped me on the shoulder and said, “You know, Jesus loves you.” I told her, “Yeah… He does. Thanks for the reminder.” It was a little strange because she seemed slightly paranoid. Maybe she’s mentally ill. Anyway, I prayed for her. Then on my walk back, I saw a girl who looked oddly familiar peer over her shoulder at me, and for a split second I thought it was Audrey Horne. She’s a dreamboat, and that was quite the moment. I had to double check. And of course she was just like the rest of them—all bird-like. She was nestled in, hiding in a tree before I could get to her and have a final look. As usual, I spent the rest of the walk in selfish prayer asking God to speed up time and reward me for waiting because for some odd reason I believe I’ve waited long enough.

Leave a Reply

