Camp No Limits

I volunteered for a week at this camp in Idaho for kids with missing limbs. I packed my bags, plugged my Ipod into my truck and drove all the way down. It was quite therapeutic to have that time to myself just listening to music and watching the road fly by. That night was the first time I had ever stayed in a hotel by myself. It was eerie. I didn’t like it at all, and I had insomnia that night.

The camp itself was great. I didn’t think I was all that great with kids until coming to this camp. I’m glad to report that the majority of the kids loved me! I have some pretty good quotes from a handful of them. I think that some of the things that kids say are some of the most profound statements about life we ever get to hear. God is in everyone, even young people. It was pretty phenomenal to see how these kids had adapted to using their prosthetics. They were fully capable of doing just about anything. It was moving to see how much their parents cared for them. It broke my heart to hear some of their tragic stories and how their kids longed to be “normal.” I can relate, but I didn’t say that of course.

Also, God brought a man to this camp and specifically placed him in my cabin for a reason. We were the only cabin that wasn’t full. It was pretty funny. It was just me and him with extra beds and extra room. Somehow we started talking one night about God (I can never remember how this topic comes up in conversation). He doesn’t believe that the Bible is the word of God, but he does believe in prayer. He told me how he had seen prayer work in his life. He also told me about how much weed he smoked and how he nearly totaled his father’s car going 80 mph in the air. Apparently, he has lived quite an eventful life. We stayed up far too late talking about his life and God, but it was meant to be. It’s times like these that I feel the connection we all have to one another. Nobody is a stranger. God is in the spaces, and God was there between us. I think about him every now and again. He left before I could say good bye. I pray that his bone marrow transplant is successful. I believe that God has a plan to restore all of creation. I have faith that God will find him in his darkness. It may be in death that he finds life. But, whatever happens I’m just so thankful that our lives could cross paths and that God allowed me to bless him.

Once I got home I started to ponder my future. Honestly though, I have no idea what I want to do with my life, but I sure do like people. I love blessing others. I really enjoy helping people. Who knows what God has in store for me. For now, I’ll just continue with my theology major at SPU. I love these theology classes.

Leave a Reply

